Shimmering Sticks Candle Holder: Day 8

12 Days 2014 Header 1

Shimmering Sticks Candle Holder

Shimmering Sticks Candle Holder

The Supplies

Shimmering Sticks Supplies

Sticks (about 3.5-5 inches long)
Glass Vase (mine is a 5 inch cylinder)
Metallic Spray Paint (I used Rust-Oleum Metallic Paint & Primer in One; Aged Copper)
Martha Stewart Glitter Paint in Copper
Fine Gold Glitter
Hot Glue Gun & Glue Sticks

The Steps

Shimmering Sticks Candle Holder Steps 1

I began by gluing 4 sticks together making sure they extended past the base of my cylinder.  Next, I glued a base layer of sticks forming a series of teepee shapes around the cylinder.  After the base layer I kept layering the sticks around the vase making sure to keep it even all the way around.  There really is no right or wrong way to do this part as long as the sticks are secure and you are happy with the design!

Shimmering Sticks Candle Holder Steps 2

When I was happy with the shape of my design I sprayed it with a coat of the Rust-Oleum Metallic Paint.  While the paint was still wet I dusted the piece with gold glitter.  My last step was to dab on a little of the glitter paint in the spots where the gold glitter missed.  This step isn’t necessary but I like the outcome!

I would love to see your finished designs!  Share them below in the comments.

Also, be sure to check out this Day 8 from a few years ago!
Honey Almond Twist

Happy Holidays!

This entry was posted in 12 Days of Decor, Centerpieces, Endless Possibilities, Get Crafty! and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Shimmering Sticks Candle Holder: Day 8

  1. Pingback: How to Winterize your Mantel and Giveaway - One More Time Events

Leave a Reply

