Painted Paper Lantern: 3 Days of Halloween Crafting

When I decorate for Halloween I always try to do a little something on the back deck.  Chances are no one will even go out there but the curtains are open and the café lights are on to add a festive touch to the evening.  In the past, I placed a carved pumpkin on the table or lit lanterns around the perimeter.  This year I saw these cool orange and black glittered paper lanterns and knew I could create somethings similar with items I already had on hand!  They would most likely only last a night so I didn’t want to spend a fortune.

The Supplies:
I raided my paper lantern stash for an orange lantern and grabbed black spray paint from the paint shelf along with some blue painters tape.  A little Martha Stewart glitter paint and a foam brush completes the list!

Painted Paper Lantern Supplies

How To:
I used blue painters tape to tape off stripes around the lantern.  I didn’t press it down too hard as I didn’t want the lantern to tear when removing the tape, this resulted in the lines being a little fuzzy which I actually don’t mind.  After spraying the lantern black and letting it dry I carefully removed the tape.  Next I brushed on the Martha Stewart glitter paint (I used Obsidian).  I like that it made the black part of the lantern a bit shiny!

Painted Paper Lantern Steps

Here it is hung up and ready to party!

Painted Paper Lantern and Lights

This entry was posted in Endless Possibilities, Halloween. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

