Snowman Cake Pops: Day 10

It’s that time of year again where I will share 12 days of decor ideas, favorite recipes (usually sweet), simple traditions and fun things to do.

Day 10:
Snowman Cake Pops

I decided it was time to attempt making cake pops.  Around the holidays I tend to go a little snowman crazy.  The cute little snowman in my heading above is the newest addition to my collection.  I gathered my supplies, did a little research and set to work.

The Finished Product:

Supplies Needed:
Cake Mix & Frosting
Candy Coating
Lollipop Sticks
Decoration (coconut, rips whips & Duff candy writer)
Styrofoam (covered with foil or plastic wrap)

To Make:
Prepare and bake cake according to package directions.  Once cake cools, crumble it into fine crumbs and mix in the frosting.  I used just about 1 container of frosting.  When mixture forms a dough it is ready.  I rolled different size balls to make snowmen as well as larger balls to dip as snowballs.  Once rolled, refrigerate the balls for 15 minutes.  Melt a small amount of candy coating, remove the cake balls from the fridge.  Dip one end of a lollipop stick in the candy coating and pierce the bottom ball of the snowman.  Followed by dipping the stick again and piercing the next ball.  Repeat this process with all the balls.  Refrigerate again for 15-20 minutes.  Melt a larger amount of candy coating.  I found it worked well to spoon the coating over the snowmen cake balls and not  dip them directly into the coating.  Allow the excess to drip off then place them in the covered foam to harden.

For the larger cake balls I dipped them straight into the candy coating (no stick) and then rolled them in coconut to make snowballs.

Once the candy coating hardens on the cake pops it is time to decorate.  I used Duff Candy Writer to make the eyes, mouth, buttons and hats.  To make the hats I piped circles of the candy writer on wax paper and refrigerated them until hardened.  I attached the circles together with dots of the candy writer and then used a larger dot of candy writer to adhere the hat to the head of the snowman.  I discovered Rips Whips in the candy aisle at my local grocery store and they were perfect for scarves.

I definitely will make these again and again!  To check out Day 10 from last year click here.

This entry was posted in 12 Days of Decor, Endless Possibilities, Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Snowman Cake Pops: Day 10

  1. Pingback: Hot Cocoa Bar: Day 12 |

  2. Pingback: “Baby It’s Cold Outside” Hot Cocoa Kit: Day 10 | Jen's Blossoms Blog

Leave a Reply

